First they came for

First they came for the food..
And shared out the animals and vegetables to eat
And I said nothing because I thought I picked my own

Then they came for the clothes..
And asked some to cover and others to uncover their heads
And I said nothing because I thought it was my personal zone

Then they came for the temples, churches and mosques
Breaking, reusing and building anew within old
And I said nothing because I thought I worshipped alone

Then they came for the jokes and the cartoons
Offended by insights that that glinted off the blade’s edge
And I said nothing because I laughed too soon

Then they came for the exercises
Claiming some to be alien, some their own
And I said nothing, knowing not what they were on

And when they came for my breath
Stifling my very words, my being
And I could say nothing, for now, saying nothing was the norm.

(I know this is not poetry.. just anger. And frustration at stupidity)

2 thoughts on “First they came for

Leave a Reply

