Your Words

I nestle myself in your words,
Pulling them close like down
I wrap myself in your prose
Like my coat-about-town

I wash myself in the waves
The sound of your voice brings
I sway to the cadence of the song
Your steady voice sings

The tattoo my heart drums up
Beats to your refrain
And as I look and listen deep
I embed you in my grain

You speak as if I am learning
Of the engines and gears you know
All I hear is my yearning
For the hum of your voice in flow

Meaning your words don’t carry
If they did, would I know?
All I can see is your lips moving
Setting mine aglow

Sharing you with none
In that moment you are mine
The echoes of this moment true
Do my heart entwine

2 thoughts on “Your Words

Leave a Reply

