Crush

Why do you mean so much to me?
What is this strange beast called ‘we’?
What makes you my waking thought?
What makes you the one I sought?

Do I see myself when I look at you?
We are as unlike as gum and glue
We are as alike as chalk and cheese
Then why is it that your words so please?

Why am I restless when you are not here?
When you look away, why do I care?
Why do I feel this vague sense of unease..
It’s a crush, isn’t it? This is a disease.

It’s no good, you know, this grown up pretence
I have nothing, nothing, to say in my defence
There I said it, what more is there to say
Except, maybe, Don’t go. Stay …  :-*

2 thoughts on “Crush

Leave a Reply

