As I am

If I were beautiful
I would offer that unto you
If I had wit or learning
Or the gift of laughter
The lilt of an instrument
In my voice
If my fingers could strum delights
Or lips tell luscious tales
That enthrall you past dusk and dawn
They would be yours
As I am

Treasures such I have none
To offer you in turn
Helpless, I stand before you
An empty vessel
As I am

Whose thirst can I quench
But one who has it all
Your abundance that spills over
Into mine and beyond
Washing over the parched earth
That I am.

One thought on “As I am

Leave a Reply

