Serenade

Does this breeze
Come brushing lightly
From the waves
Past my cheeks
Ride the song
You play so softly

Does it carry
Your notes
Away

Or do they turn
To gentle strum
Echoing my footsteps
In their arrhythmic thrum

Words I do not understand
Inviting me to sway
Like the waves
You watch coming to you
Never quite there

Your serenade
Can bring them
Only so far

Now your song
Turns plaintive
Thoughtful even
Misting over
Bare skin

But the gusts
From the bold sea
Have already
Done me in

I have been
And gone.

Leave a Reply

