Fly

Very easily I could just turn around and fly
Sometimes I’d wonder whether you’d ever figured out why…

You’d stand there and look, high up in the sky
I’d be a speck by then, you’d think I’m floating by

You’d point me out to friends you’d meet using a familiar sounding name,
But your assumed closeness would just grate against my fame

You’d look up in the blue above as you played with the boys in the park
And point to the balloon up high and say, I know her! They’d think its a lark

You say it in soft whispers in the cold dark of the night
That star you see above you shine, she used to be my light

(C) meetasengupta

Leave a Reply

