It is Best

It is best
that we go about our business
as if the other did not exist
It is best
that we carry on as usual
the call is difficult to resist

It is now that I will ignore
the urge to pick up
you or the phone
The cradle is long gone
another artefact..
Unsullied

It is now that you pretend
to speak of matters
far from mundane
of battles for power
and deep dark desire
But it’s all business
The workaday tone

You may
Pretend that the call is vain
Maybe I will
Know that sudden flare
That reached out for me
Was mine for the taking
Or not

You will never be able to tell
From the silence of my face
That it throbs
To the breaths you partake.

(It is best
That it is time for you
To return
Make your way to me
I am home)

Leave a Reply

