Arrgnst – Notes From a University Town

Why should I do this for you
Again, and then time again
Rescue you from your foolishness
What do I have to gain

I’ve been a help, I’ve been there
A support, a carer, there for succour
Been your shoulder, helped you through
So much, you think I’m a sucker

No, I cannot help you any more
Cannot carry you through
Your burdens are your very own
You’ll not be baggage that I grew

I will be mine, and look after me
It’s the grown up way to be
I will forge ahead and stay on course
You’ll not distract me, you see

Fine, one more time, but this is the last
I’ll pick you up today
But come tomorrow, you are on your own
I am not in your life to stay

Go find your own, don’t cling to me
Don’t hold me in your sway
I need to find my own people
I need to find my way.

(c) MeiSen

Leave a comment